The Tin Can: Tarheel Basketball's Crude Beginnings
The Indoor Athletic Court opened for the 1924 Helms Foundation National Champion Tarheel Team, led by Cartwright Carmichael. The odd arena was fondly referred to as the "Tin Can" by all at Carolina because of its warehouse appearance and its metal frame. The Tin Can surely was a crude beginning. However, the '24 team found it exciting to have a little more elbow room than the cramped Bynum Gymnasium. There were several courts, a couple of stoves, and one restroom. Needless to say, the necessity for a full gym was evident early on in the Tin Can. But it would stay on campus until the late seventies when it was demolished to make room for Fetzer Gymnazium.